The CMM facilities are located on the ground floor of the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology building. These purpose built laboratories house four state of the art transmission electron microscopes and two scanning electron microscopes plus a range of sample preparation facilities. In addition the laboratory is equipped with a sophisticated optical microscopy suite with three optical microscopes in various configurations.  Contact details.

Hawken Lab

The Hawken laboratory is the scanning electron microscopy laboratory of the CMM. There are a series of scanning electron microscopes that can examine a very broad range of sample types.  In addition to microscopy, many instruments are capable of microanalysis using a wide variety of techniques. The laboratory also houses a microprobe instrument that provides quantitative elemental analysis from polished specimens.  Contact details.



Located in the Queensland Bioscience Precinct at The University of Queensland, the Cryo-Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM) Facility is a laboratory that was purpose-built for standard and cryo-TEM sample preparation and analysis, as well as electron tomography of both resin-embedded and cryo-samples (for three-dimensional analysis).  Contact details.


X-ray Facility

The X-ray analysis facility at CMM is based on level two of the Chemistry building and provides a range of X-ray techniques for studying chemical composition, nano-scale size and crystalline phases in a range of materials.  Contact details.


Mass Spectrometry Lab

The Mass Spectrometry Lab at CMM is based on level seven of the Chemistry building.  Contact details.